City of Redding Honors Red Cross for Carr Fire Disaster Response

The American Red Cross Gold Country Region was recently recognized by the Redding City Council for our response to the Carr Fire.

Also honored were our partners the United Way, Salvation Army, Shasta Regional Community Foundation and Catholic Charities.

The Carr Fire was one of several wildfires that displaced thousands of people throughout California over the last year.

Here is what Harvey Johnson, Senior Vice President of American Red Cross Disaster Cycle Services, recently wrote about the California wildfires:

The 2017 California wildfire season was exhausting and heartbreaking for affected residents. For months on end, relentless blazes—including some of the largest and most destructive wildfires ever seen in California—impacted communities across the state, causing tragic losses and forever changing lives. Amid an unprecedented season of major disasters, the American Red Cross delivered relief and comfort to thousands of Californians.

This vital aid was made possible through the extraordinary generosity of the public and the tireless efforts of thousands of Red Cross volunteers and employees. Together, their
compassionate contributions provided safe shelter, food, water and essential relief supplies to people in need, along with health services, emotional support and much more.

As wildfire survivors sifted through the ashes of ruined homes and took the first steps to rebuild their lives, the Red Cross has stayed by their sides with ongoing support for recovery. We’re providing financial assistance to households whose homes experienced major damage or were destroyed, and we’re awarding grants to partners doing important community recovery work.

We’re also joining with local Long-Term Recovery Committees to help identify and address residents’ unmet needs. We know that the road to recovery can be long and difficult. But, powered by steadfast supporters and dedicated volunteers, we’ll be there with affected individuals and families every step of the way.

Published by

American Red Cross California Gold Country Region

The California Gold Country Region serves a twenty-six county territory including Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Glenn, Humboldt, Lake, Lassen, Mendocino, Modoc, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tuolumne, Yolo, and Yuba counties

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.