Nurse Assistance Training Program Opens at Sacramento Red Cross Office

By Marlene Stamper, Public Affairs Volunteer

25745337850_f277357b06_zOn March 24, 2016 Rosiris Guerra, Red Cross Nurse Assistance Training Program Manager, welcomed attendees to a ribbon-cutting and open house to commemorate the opening of the Nurse Assistance Training (NAT) Program at the Sacramento Red Cross office. The American Red Cross is the premier provider of Nurse Assistant Training and has prepared individuals for work in the nursing field for over 100 years. The program is designed with input from educators, caregivers, and long-term industry representatives from across the United States.

The NAT Program is a 180-hour course that prepares students to take the state competency exam to be a Certified Nurse Assistant (CNA). The program places a high emphasis on learning excellent communications skills and the Art of Caregiving to provide compassionate care for people in the health care system.

Gary Strong Opens NAT Training Center

Gary Strong, CEO of the Red Cross Gold Country Region, performed the ribbon cutting honors and formally opened the Sacramento training center. The training center includes a traditional classroom and a hands-on clinical training area equipped with hospital beds, practice mannequins, and various medical equipment. Mr. Strong was enthusiastic about the future of the NAT Program, and excited to welcome NAT students to the Sacramento office.

Lisa Lopez, Red Cross Registered Nurse and NAT Program coordinator described the training and what students could expect over the six-week course, “we do everything hands-on,” said Lopez. “We don’t simulate any practice. We like to make sure all students are ready and prepared…”

Liza Lopez explains how the NAT Program benefits the community

In addition to Sacramento, the Red Cross offers the NAT Program in Santa Rosa, Oakland, San Jose, and Yuba City. Scholarships are available on a limited basis to eligible students.

For more information, visit

Published by

American Red Cross California Gold Country Region

The California Gold Country Region serves a twenty-six county territory including Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Glenn, Humboldt, Lake, Lassen, Mendocino, Modoc, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tuolumne, Yolo, and Yuba counties

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.