Local Governments Proclaim March “Red Cross Month”

Volunteers from the Northeastern CA Chapter accepted a proclamation from the City of Redding

March is Red Cross Month. It is a time to recognize and celebrate the “everyday heroes” at work in our communities everyday, making it possible for the Red Cross to fulfill its mission to provide comfort and alleviate suffering around the world. Beginning with Franklin D. Roosevelt in 1943, every United States President has since designated March as Red Cross Month.

This year, several local governments from within the Capital Region also moved to recognize Red Cross Month, presenting local proclamations and honoring the work of the thousands of “everyday heroes” delivering Red Cross services throughout our expansive territory.

Volunteers George Rodriguez (L) and Heath Wakelee show off the proclamation issued by the City of Roseville

Recognition at the local level is an important piece to telling the Red Cross story beyond larger national and international events, which tend to capture the bulk of the public’s attention. While the Red Cross is intrumental in providing disaster relief services to those larger incidents, volunteers are also hard at work in our own backyard everyday, bringing comfort to those impacted by local disasters, helping to educate the community about emergency preparedness, training individuals how to react and respond in emergency situations, and so much more.

This year, Red Cross Month proclamations were presented by:

  • Calaveras County Board of Supervisors
  • San Joaquin County Board of Supervisors
  • Shasta County Board of Supervisors
  • Yuba County Board of Supervisors
  • City of Auburn
  • City of Lincoln
  • City of Lodi
  • City of Manteca
  • City of Marysville
  • City of Oroville
  • City of Redding
  • City of Rocklin
  • City of Roseville
  • City of Stockton
  • City of Tracy

Published by

American Red Cross California Gold Country Region

The California Gold Country Region serves a twenty-six county territory including Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Glenn, Humboldt, Lake, Lassen, Mendocino, Modoc, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tuolumne, Yolo, and Yuba counties

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.